History

Quick links

Where can I start?

Looking for information? Here are some suggested Credible Resources:

Library books

* see the ‘Humanities’ shelves
Look for the blue spine stickers

Or Search the library catalogue online

* We also have eBooks available in Wheelers eBooks: https://whitefriarscollege.wheelers.co/

Use search box for the search terms

ClickView – use the search box. Jot down search terms. Add to playlist (under ‘options’).

If not logged in automatically simply use your email address and computer password to log in.

Websites - use credible websites from educational, government or not-for-profit organisations.
Stay away from Wikipedia and websites which are commercial (selling something with lots of ads).

Databases - including those Whitefriars subscribes to, State Library members accessible (free to sign up) or freely avaliable.
See databases below

Databases

NOTE: These are data bases that Whitefriars College subscribes to.

World Book Online This link opens in a new window
World Book Online includes dictionaries, atlas, links, magazines, historical documents, audio, video, images, and 3D photographs. The encyclopedia offers easy-to-read articles and a wealth of engaging multimedia, games, science, projects, interactive tools, and activities.

Gale in Context: High School This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context: High School provides current and credible information on a range of topics and in a variety of digital formats such as articles from encyclopedias, newspapers, magazines, videos & podcasts.

World History Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
This site includes an array of historical topics and narratives through text, video, interactive features, and social media. With high quality reviewed content the publication follows academic standards, but it is written in an easy-to-read manner with students.

Britannica Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia Britannica contains carefully edited articles on all major topics. It fits the ideal purpose of a reference work as a place to get started, or to refer back to as you read and write. The articles in Britannica are written by authors both identifiable and credible. Many articles provide references to books and other sources about the topic covered. Topics covered include Entertainment & Pop Culture, Geography & Travel, Health & Medicine, Lifestyles & Social Issues, Literature, Philosophy & Religion, Politics, Law & Government, Science, Sports & Recreation, Technology, Visual Arts, and World History.

Explore the fact-checked online encyclopedia from Encyclopaedia Britannica with hundreds of thousands of objective articles, biographies, videos, and images ...

Browse through Birtannica's HISTORY ARTICLES which cover topics such as

Other Databases

National Museum Australia This link opens in a new window
Explore remarkable stories of Australian life, history and culture from our collection, defining moments, audio and blog.

ANZAC Portal This link opens in a new window
Sharing Australia's military and service history through the experiences of our veterans.
This educational website developed by the Office of the Board of Studies for the Commonwealth Department of Veterans' Affairs. This site charts the course of Australia's wartime history.

Trove This link opens in a new window
Trove can be used to explore amazing collections from Australian libraries, universities, museums, galleries and archives. It’s free and available online all day, every day. Everything you would find on a visit to a library or museum can be found in Trove. It brings together billions of pieces of information.

Australian War Memorial This link opens in a new window
The Australian War Memorial is a national war memorial and museum dedicated to all Australians who died during war. While the AWM is located in Campbell, a suburb of the Australian capital of Canberra, they have a vast digital library available online.

J Stor This link opens in a new window
Search full-text scholarly journals on all subjects published from 1700 up until 1–5 years ago. Articles published before 1923 in United States journals, or before 1870 elsewhere, are freely accessible.
Note: Free access is available through a State Library Digital Membership
JOIN for free HERE: https://www.slv.vic.gov.au/membership

Websites

https://www.ushmm.org/

www.archives.gov/

https://www.historyextra.com/

https://www.history.com/

https://www.iwm.org.uk/

https://www.nationalww2museum.org/

https://www.loc.gov/

https://www.si.edu/

Researching

Use our Research table template to keep track your research in one place

(Word doc attached below)

hints on search strategies

Research Table

Using Images

Using pictures from the internet:

You may like to include pictures in your task. However, you need to make sure that you select pictures from the internet that can be reproduced for educational purposes. Use these following tips for selecting images:

World Book Online – Within a World Book article there will be a tab called ‘Media’ which contains images. Worldbook gives permission to reuse these images for educational purposes.
Google Image Search – Advanced: http://www.google.com.au/advanced_image_search
> under ‘usage rights’ select ‘free to use or share’
Creative Commons Image search - http://search.creativecommons.org/
- Remember to click on ‘Visit’ to get the url of an image for your reference list
Look for images labelled as free to download under Creative Commons licence.

Note: Remember to keep track of our sources for proper citation and acknowledgement in your reference list in APA style

Referencing

Always include the source of information and images you have used (the reference).

Write the information in your own words or use direct quotes.

Include an in-text reference within your written work to indicate where the ideas come from (if in your own words) or where the quote comes from, e.g. Jones (2018).

In your bibliography, list the resources in a consistent way e.g. APA 7

For example, your textbook reference in APA 7 style is:

Tuohy, M., Green, D., Samuel, S., & Valladares, C. (2016). Religion and society: VCE units 1-4. South Melbourne, Vic.: Cengage Learning Australia.

For example, a reference for an image is:

Jeevan. (2015). Sikhism [Photograph]. Retrieved from https://pixabay.com/photos/sikh-religion-sikhism-p unjab-holy-658513/

Use CiteMaker to format your references: www.citemaker.com/whitefriars.vic

Make sure you cite & reference your sources. Use APA 7 Referencing & for help use CiteMaker.

Contact Library Staff